Smith, Shannon

Schneider, Harry
May 17, 2018
Stancik, Clement
May 17, 2018
Show all

Smith, Shannon

Shannon Smith

Induction Year: 2018

Category: Lacrosse

Location: West Babylon

Shannon Smith, a three-time first-team lacrosse All-American who is among the most decorated players in the sport, is also the head women’s lacrosse coach at Hofstra University. The West Babylon native completed a four-year playing career at Northwestern in May 2012. Among her many highlights included winning three NCAA titles, earning three first team All-American honors (2010, 2011, 2012) and capturing the 2011 Tewaaraton Trophy (presented annually to the NCAA women’s and men’s lacrosse player of the year) and lacrosse Honda Sport Award (recognized as the top collegiate female athlete in her sport, and the award is considered by many as one of the highest honors a female college athlete can receive in the nation).

A key player on three teams that captured NCAA titles at Northwestern (2009, 2011, 2012), Smith was the Most Outstanding Player of the 2011 and 2012 Championships. During her career, she scored 58 points in the NCAA Tournament to rank second all-time in that category.

Smith’s incredible career at Northwestern was recognized in 2017 as it was announced she will be inducted into the Northwestern Athletics Hall of Fame this year. Smith’s immense experience at the highest level of lacrosse continues with her extensive US Lacrosse career.

She was named to the roster for the 2012-14 U.S. women’s national senior team. As a member of the U-19 squad, she helped lead the team to the Gold Medal at the 2007 World Cup.

A native of West Babylon, New York, Smith attended West Babylon High School where she was a six-time letter-winner and was a member of the varsity squad starting in seventh grade.

Smith was one of the top scholastic lacrosse players to ever come out of Long Island as she had 729 points on 505 goals and 224 assists during her career. Both the points and goals totals are New York state records as is her 129 goals in 2006.